The Secret World of Connie Starr

This product is available for preorder
Cover Art for 9781867207825, The Secret World of Connie Starr by 
                                        
                        Robbi Neal
ISBN: 9781867207825
Publisher: HQ Fiction AU
Published: 1 June, 2022
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Links Harper Collins
Editions:
3 other editions of this product
Saving: Saving: $20.45 or 39%

A stunning evocation of Australian life through the war to the 1950s, this novel is intimate and sweeping, immediate and dreamlike - a magical rendering of darkness and joy, and the beauty inherent in difference. For readers of Sarah Winman's Still Life, Trent Dalton's All Our Shimmering Skies and Rosalie Ham's The Dressmaker. Connie Starr was always a difficult child. That day in 1934 when she arrived screaming into a Ballarat living room, her mother knew that a little more chaos had entered the world and it would not leave until Connie did. But if Connie is difficult she is also different. From the safety of a branch high in her lemon tree where she speaks to angels, she sees the world for what it is - a swirling mass of beauty and darkness, of trauma and family, of love and war and truth and lies - lies that might just undo her and drive her to a desperate act.This ambitious, complex and insightful novel intertwines numerous stories of lives from before World War 2 and beyond, recreating with intimacy and breadth a world that is now lost to us. This book is a brightly coloured patchwork quilt of everything from shoes to polio, lemon trees to rivers, death to life that melds into one beautiful, luminous work of art.'A perfect novel, poetic, evocative and hopeful. Your heart will break and then heal for Connie Starr.' Victoria Purman, bestselling author of The Nurses' War

Filters

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated